Peace in our time

the-great-dictator-1940-wallpapers-9

 

While I know that better qualified  ,more eloquent and more informed voices than mine have been raised against the election of Donald Trump as President of the United States ,I feel in good conscience I can’t let this day end without giving voice to my horror ,disgust and sorrow.While I live in the UK I feel that some events have repercussions far outside their own borders .

“The ultimate test of a moral society is the kind of world that it leaves to its children.”

Our world has become a darker ,more dangerous and less tolerant place ,a place where injustice will hold sway in one of the most influential nations on earth ,where a man with the intellect of a rather stupid baboon and the compassion of a hungry Hyena now has a place on the world stage ,and access to millions of armed men and women.We are now in a world where he can decide who lives and who dies ,what the rights of women ,Muslims ,gays, the disabled ,Latin Americans ,African Americans and native Americans will have.

The US has taken a step back into the darkness of intolerance.Martin Luther kings dream has given way to a cold bleak dawn

“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the colour of their skin, but by the content of their character. Martin Luther King, Jr

“Laziness is a trait in blacks.” He was allegedly referring to a black accountant working for Trump Plaza, and added, ““Black guys counting my money! I hate it. The only kind of people I want counting my money are short guys that wear yarmulkes every day.” The kicker is that Trump, in a 1999 Playboy magazine interview, did not even deny saying those things. He admitted O’Donnell’s allegations were probably true

Donald Trump .

ARE THEY SAYING BLACK LIVES SHOULD MATTER MORE THAN WHITE LIVES OR ASIAN LIVES? IF BLACK LIVES MATTER, THEN GO BACK TO AFRICA? WE’LL SEE HOW MUCH THEY MATTER THERE.”

I do wonder if Mr Trump realises that Africa is not a country but many nations.

“When Mexico sends its people, they’re not sending their best. They’re not sending you. They’re not sending you. They’re sending people who have lots of problems, and they’re bringing those problems with us. They’re bringing drugs. They’re bringing crime. They’re rapists. And some, I assume, are good people.”

It is true I live in the UK and that as such Trumps likely domestic policy is “none of my business” I would again quote Martin Luther king

Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere. Martin Luther King, Jr.
There will be an unseen death toll ,those hundreds of thousands of refugees fleeing Isis and  crisis of unprecedented proportions in the middle near and far east ,which was utterly and entirely of western making .The USA and UK  with its one time prime minister Blair as its spineless lackey must take much of the blame for  the rise of ISIS/ISIL yet we wring our hands at the mess without doing a nothing to help ,we turn away those fleeing horrors of our making and consign them to death as surely as those Jewish refugees ships we turned away and left to Hitlers tender mercy .

Trump has called for a blanket ban on “muslims” entering the country and refugees later saying that he meant those who couldnt provide paperwork ,,Leaving aside the fact that many refugees are actually christians  (a group who has borne the initial brunt of Isis wrath and seen the worst of its atrocities )

It is breathtakingly stupid to base need on the ability to provide paperwork ,to make being unable to provide “the correct paperwork ” a crime that consigns whole families to poverty and despair or even death .

jesus-refugee

I also seems to me that terrorists would be careful to ensure they did indeed have paperwork and Isis certainly have the resources to provide it so its ridiculous reason to deny a safe haven to someone.

wisdom cries aloud in the street,
in the markets she raises her voice;
at the head of the noisy streets she cries out;
at the entrance of the city gates she speaks:
“How long, O simple ones, will you love being simple?
How long will scoffers delight in their scoffing
and fools hate knowledge?

Well clearly the answer to why Trumps stupid ,crass and delights in ignorance is that hes heard the voice of Wisdom is a womans voice .,,and women under Trump will have no voice

Trump has said so many stupid things and disgusting things about women that it takes no particular journalistic research skills to find a goodly crop ,indeed I am spoiled for choice if that is the correct turn of phrase .But referring consistently to women as “ass” claiming its fine to grope them ,basing criticism of those women uppity enough to challenge him on their looks ,their voice or their gender should say clearly enough his views on women .There are several country’s leaders who are women how will they feel dealing with Mr Trump.How will women’s rights groups feel today.

Lastly in a country without a national health service or any form of benefits for the poor and those who have fallen on hard time ,,where often the rich live and the poor die and a child’s future is defined by the colour of its parents money ,how will Trump deal with the sick ,the disabled ,the homeless and the uneducated ?

Trump was quoted ,,possibly wrongly ,possibly not as claiming he would want all Muslims placed on a register ,,later it appears he was misquoted and actually meant something else,,what nobody is really sure of ,however he has made clear he mistrust “them “and by constantly linking refugees ,Muslim and terrorist in his rhetoric its not hard to see his actual views are not far from those he is “misquoted ” as having expressed

 

I had planned to write a version of the famous    Martin Niemöller  anti Nazi poem but a better version than mine has already been written.

First Trump came for the women
And I did not speak out
Because I was not a woman.

Then Trump came for the people with disabilities
And I did not speak out
Because I did not have a disability.

Then Trump came for the African Americans
And I did not speak out
Because I was not African American.

Then Trump came for the Mexicans
And I did not speak out
Because I was not Mexican.

Then Trump came for the Muslims
And I did not speak out
Because I was not Muslim.

Then Trump came for the gay, bi, and trans people
And I did not speak out
Because I was not gay, bi or trans.*

Then Trump came for the Jews
And I did not speak out
Because I was not a Jew.**

Then Trump came for the journalists
And I did not speak out
Because I was not a journalist.***

Then Trump came for the judges
And I did not speak out
Because I was not a judge.

And now Trump is coming for the Constitution of the United States
And if I do not speak out, what am I?

The famous poem by an anti-Nazi pastor, rewritten for Donald Trump’s America

Let the final word of this post go again to Dr Martin Luther King Jr and to Jesus words from the gospel of Matthew

“Nothing in all the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity.”


Blessed are they who mourn,
for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek,
for they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

Blessed are the merciful,
for they shall obtain mercy.

Blessed are the pure of heart,
for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they shall be called children of God.

Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

About hathawaysofhaworth

I am a Historian and author living in the north
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

