The18thc costumes images resource

As there’s currently no 18thc  image page on the blog here’s a brief overview of my 18thc costumes

The first is a very early style Sacque back or Robe a la francais ,this has less decoration and is fuller than later styles.The inspiration for the fabric choice was this extant gown

silk sacque back met

rose sacqe back

rose gwn back

rose gown front

I have spare fabric and made a Pet en L air jacket from the same fabric

rose silk pet en lair

I  recently made an early round gown ,shown here with vintage apron and kercheif

green colonial gown

wycoller ruins

colonial gown side

This was a later style Sacque back gown ,made from embriored faux silk

robe_a_la_francais_by_abigial709b-d3k7ald

18thc pl cap5039333193_7f42f8b217_o

The Simplest 18thc items are my little cheats jackets,these are not  strict replicas  as they are not actually jackets and back lace rather than pin closed at the front but look quite effective and are easier for different people to wear than a fitted jacket which is only going to fit the person who was measured for it

kathyafterhermakeover

This is a little Caraco style Jacket,I made several of these  as they are a great way to use up spare fabric ,I also made three vaguely caraco style tops for winter work in a Hollywood does the 18thc style

halifax

blue caraco

I had originally wanted to make the one above as a Jesuit jacket but ran out of fabric and as it was vintage velvet I didn’t have the option of buying more.The gold below was also vintage as was the trim ,unfortunatly by the time I manged to get photos it was becoming rather worn .

gold skirt eb

carco jacket

I also had a brief attempt at 18th court hairstyles

hair pantoweekend

christmas hair 2The hair took an immense amount of effort and three hours to complete on the day plus time spent previously  creating the hair cushions ,side curls etc

I like to have a few little jackets as they can be mix and matched so I have started to work on  Pet en l air  styles though these are much harder to figure out than I expected  as I don’t use patterns  so its hard to get an idea of whats happening under the back panels  but they  are basically cropped off  sacque back gowns .unfortunately I don’t have a current photo of the pet en lair being worn

pet en lair back

I also made a little Perriot jacket based on one in the met ,but this was far too small to fit me so again I dont have a photo of it being worn.The image below is compliments of Ian Howard photographer

ferndean ian

Detail,The fabric is Manuel Canovas striped silk ,the lining and pleated trim fabric  is vintage moire taffeta ,the trim is vintage 1940s  and the lace is antique early Victorian

bodice p cuff

I als made a caraco jacket and petticoat ensemble loosely modeled on the Marie Antoinette blue traveling outfit

bluedr

My favourite 18thc gown is the robe a la francais or  sacque back gown.Heres my first attempt which could also be worn drawn up through pockets

WALKING PONDON WATERcouple 2

For my own use I usually make them in dark colours as they are awkward to wash and that is by far the easiest solution to avoid too much trouble for work gowns.My Rboe a la francais /sacque backs are cheats versions ,I attach the stomacher to the actual gown and just close it via the hidden back lacing as this makes them much easier to get into and cuts down slightly the amount of time needed to get into costume.I usualy wear it over fairly narrow pocket panniers

I have also made several gowns which can be worn a la polonaise

kathy gown

I made one of the sacque back gowns adapted to be worn in a polonaise style but with the skirts pulled up through gaps en pocket as can be seen in one of the photos further up this post

The Style is also ideal for adapting into fairytale gowns ,this one below is essentialy a polonaise gown but with  modified bodice front and  tweaked trims ,,pearls on the pleated neckline ,fur cuffs etc

me harry panto

The other costume here is a faux court Mantua,its cut like a Mantua but I didn’t have enough fabric for the train back so had to crop it down

pantoweekend court mantua

mantua cuffs

Its worn over a quilted petticoat and wide narrow panniers .

The first 18thc gown I made was inspired my Marie Antoinette movie and made with vintage Laura Ashley fabric and was a robe a la Anglais.I also made a pale blue damask version .

blue dress back eb

,the style became my Easter gown style of choice ,this was another based on the Movie Marie Antoinette

marieant 014

cuffSome could be worn over wide cage panniers

18thc_masked_ensemble_by_abigial709b-d3ku7z1

most went over narrow pocket panniers.The one below  was a “user friendly” style using modern satin brocade which didn’t need Ironing and could be washed fairly easily,The sleeves are vintage worked broderie anglaise

gold and purple 044

Though I am not as keen on later style I did make one late 18thc dress

18thc brown dress

Lastly an option for anyone needing an 18thc outfit but who isn’t a costumer or does not want to make one from scratch.the skirt below is an 18thc style front and back tieing side pleated skirt but you could at a pinch use a basic full Victorian style skirt.The waistcoat is a vintage pastimes waistcoat which I cut the sides from and slightly tailored the sides,,but it was wearable unaltered .The blouse is a little Victorian look ruffled neck one from Primark

waistcoatMy most recent addition is a loose fitting jacket and a quilted petticoat

quilted mantuared pettitcoat 1Though slightly earlier I have recently  started  to make Mantuas and late 17thc gowns ,this is my intermediate Mantua /Restoration gown

red brocade mantuared mantua lace collar
All the costume gowns in this post were designed and made by myself ,a gown can be purchased in my Etsy shop or made to order for you
https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/Myladieswardobe?ref=l2-shopheader-name

About hathawaysofhaworth

I am a Historian and author living in the north
This entry was posted in 18thc, Hathaways of Haworth, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

